Planning Board

The Ashfield Planning Board's main areas of responsibilities are:

  • Administration of the Sub-Division Regulations, reviewing applications for sub-divisions, reviewing ANRs (Approval Not Required).
  • Reviewing applications for Special Permits. Uses requiring a special permit are listed in the Zoning By-laws, section VII.
  • Drafting new by-laws or modifications to existing by-laws and bringing these to a Town Meeting for a vote.

The planning board is a five-member elected board.


Name Title Term
Michael Fitzgerald Chair 2019
Alan Rice Clerk 2020
Ken Miller   2021
Jim Cutler   2018
Meghan Bowen Administrative Assistant  


1st and 3rd Wednesdays of each month at 7:30 pm in the Town Hall main floor office meeting room.

List of Fees

  • ANR (Approval Not Required), $75
  • Special Permit, $150 or 0.005 of construction value (whichever is more)
  • Sub-Division Application, $300