Conservation Commission

The purpose of the Conservation Commission is to protect the wetlands, water resources, and adjoining land areas in the Town of Ashfield.  The Commission administers the state wetland regulations by controlling activities deemed likely to have a significant or cumulative effect upon public or private water supply, groundwater, flood control, erosion and sedimentation control, storm damage prevention, water quality, water pollution control, fisheries, wildlife habitat, rare species habitat including rare plant species, agriculture, aquaculture, and recreation values, deemed important to the community

 In general the jurisdiction of the Conservation Commission is any activity within:

  • 200' of a year-round stream, brook or river
  • 100' of a marsh, pond, flood plain or other wetland

All activities within the above listed areas require a review by the Conservation Commission before any work can begin.

Members of the Conservation Commission are appointed by the Select Board for a three year term. 


Name Title Term
Brian Clark   2025
Kate McKenney   2024
Aaron Nelson Chair 2025
Ryan Pease   2026
Matthew Karas   2026


The Conservation Commission meets monthly on the second and fourth Wednesday from January thru October.  In November and December the Commission meets on the second Wednesday of the month only.   All meetings start at 7:30 PM.

Minutes & Agendas

Current and past minutes and agendas are found on the Commission's "Minutes & Agenda" online folder. 


RDA’s, NOI’s and Other Submitted Documents

Other Conservation Commission documents if not listed on this page.


Other Conservation Commission forms if not listed on this page.